Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tried posting this in a different forum and didn't get any responses. So, I thought I'd try it here as well.

I'm new to archery, and, as I wait for my bow to get here, I'm trying to figure out exactly what I'm going to use as a target. I've seen the threads on here about building a wood frame and covering it with target material or getting a target bag replacement cover and stuffing either one with rags, clothing, plastic wrap, etc. I've also seen a YouTube video in which a man makes a cube target (18"x18"x18") out of carpet, carpet padding, and duck tape among other materials. My question is whether or not anyone has thought of or tried to take a target bag replacement cover and stuffing it with a mixture of carpet/carpet padding? Would this be feasible? Would it be too heavy to hang on a frame (wood or PVC)? I know there would be a problem with moisture (as the carpet and padding would definitely retain moisture if they got wet). I ask this because I have excess carpet lying around and, frankly, I can't think of a better use for it. You have all been at this much longer than me and have probably heard/seen/tried most things. I'd love any input you could give me.
Thanks!

·
Registered
6,389 Posts
I made a layered carpet target, and while it works, it's not great. I get bounce backs, not sure how but I do. I've shot bag targets, have one now that I've shot out. I personally prefer the layered foam targets. I don't like the way arrows don't stay straight in the target when shooting a bag target. It makes it easy to hit the side of arrows and cause damage. With layered foam, the arrows truly stick in a certain distance and held straight for the most part. Also pinning targets to a layered target is much easier.

·
Registered
1,261 Posts