Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,355 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started back into competitive archery after a lay-off of 3 decades. I had some really good success back then and in hindsight I wish I hadn't abandoned those dreams all those years ago. With a family to feed and bills to pay I had little choice. Now I do. I'm 61 and having some success on the state level but I'm nowhere near the level of the champions we have here on TradTalk. Still I'm considering devoting more time to this "hobby" and wondering: What should be my next step? Is tournament archery just about bragging rights or can it be turned into something more? I'm wondering if it can be these days and I'm looking for a little guidance and the voice of experience from some of you pros....

·
Barefaced tightropewalker
8,512 Posts
Best I can suggest is coaching and mental training.

·
Registered
2,355 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
rusty you're absolutely right and I'm lucky enough to have been shooting alongside one this year. He was also the defending champion at the State Championship I shot Sunday and I've watched him shoot several ASA rounds either clean or over this season. He's become a good friend.

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
It's all depending on what you're after...if it's a state championship or a world Championship...there's really only 2 major 3-D organizations here in the US the IBO and the ASA...they are about as much differences as could be.

I shoot both and love both..the IBO is typically a harder course more challenging because of angles and distances.

I shoot a few local events but mainly stick to those two.

Dewayne Martin

Reactions: longrifle346

·
Registered
152 Posts