Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a DAS Dalaa 17 with 45 pound medium limbs and was giving aluminums a try. I have a 28.5 draw length. I am wanting to shoot the arrows full or as close to full length as possible. I bought 3 spines to try 2018’s 2117’s and 2216’s.

I am shooting stock 25 grain inserts and have 100 and 125 grain field points (I am awaiting heavier points to be delivered) I would like to shoot between 125 to 175 grains up front due to broadhead selection.

No mater what I do I am getting a massive nock left tear through paper, I am right handed.

I have worked and worked on form. I have been shooting barebow for several months and average 250 on a 300 round which is not amazing but not terrible either. I filmed myself and appear to have good alignment and follow through and no visible pluck. I have even played around with my hook depth and am getting the same tears.

Is this a false weak and possibly need to bump up my point weight more.

I was playing around with a black eagle rampage 350 spine cut to 28” and with a 52 grain insert and 125 grain point up front I am getting a bullet hole with a bare shaft.

Is this a false weak and possibly need to bump up my point weight more. Or does my form just require a stiffer arrow?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
2,578 Posts
I tip my hat to anyone that can paper tune a bow shooting with fingers. I never could pull it off. All I ever found out with paper is move up or back a couple feet and get different readings.

My preferred method is to arrow and bare shaft group tune; start close make adjustments and move back a little, then do it again. I get immediate feedback as to what exactly is going on.

Good luck to you.

Reactions: Sam Dunham

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·