Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking into getting a D shpe when strung longbow and some wood arrows. bows I am looking at a one piece around 37-38# what brand of bows meets the requirements for this class for the shoots. Thanks Cecil

·
Registered
6,444 Posts
What organization? You talking Trad class or Longbow class?
Trad is almost anything goes for most organizations, but Longbow is a bit more restrictive.

-Grant

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am going to shoot the longbow class. I am interested in shooting the IBO and maybe some more. not sure which shoots i will be able to shoot. just dont wont to buy a bow and find out i cannot enter and shoot it.

·
Registered
6,444 Posts
Lots of bows meet the requirements. What sort of budget are you working with? You looking for something like a Hill bow or a more tournament oriented bow?

-Grant

·
Registered
411 Posts
Cecil, I'm no expert, but take a look at the IBO rules, page 18: http://ibo.net/pdf/2014/IBO RULES 2014.pdf

One or two piece longbow and wood arrows can shoot that class. I am having a 68" one piece long bow (the Dingo) made by Stalker Bows to shoot STRD class next year. Not the longbow class. But, I like the bow because it has a riser like a recurve and therefore is more in line with what I have been shooting. But, if you want a "real longbow," there are apparently many great ones. If I were shooting that class, I would call Dave Wallace, a stunning shooter, and all the chatter is that is bows are spectacular.

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Cecil, All of the 21st Century longbows are IBO legal...Basically any longbow that the string doesn't lay on the back of the limb like a recurve.

Dewayne

·
Super Moderator
2,771 Posts
Cecil,