Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I recently purchased my first recurve (W&W Sebastian Flute Prostyle Right-Hand 24" Recurve Riser & W&W Sebastian Flute Prostyle "Long" Recurve Limbs @ 26#) with Easton Tribute xx75 1916's arrows (He installed some glue-in 75 Grain field points). My brace height is 8.75"

So I went to a pro shop and had my draw length measured and he cut my arrows to 29.5". He told me that the arrows may end up being too stiff for me. He might as well have been speaking Japanese cause I didn't understand what he meant.

So, here's is what I found out....if the arrow is too stiff then it will hit to the left, correct?

I haven't shot the arrows yet as he told me to wait a day for the glue to dry....

So I'm wondering; 1) if I purchased the correct arrows for my setup and if not what should I be shooting, instead? 2) Since I'm a real beginner does it really matter right now?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I am also not sure my nock is fitting properly on these arrows and string (Stone Mountain DynaFLIGHT Recurve Bowstring from Lancaster Archery; 18 Strand, 68" AMO) the nock is really tight, and was wondering if I could gently file out the opening to make it fit better with the Easton Tribute xx75 1916's?

·
Registered
2,363 Posts
A stiff arrow will impact left IF you are right handed.

Need to know your bow weight at your draw length.

Don't know of any glue that takes 24 hours to dry except 24 hr epoxy and he glued in your points with hot glue.

When it comes to proshops and trad archery take anything they tell you with a grain of salt.

Bowmania

·
Bart Harmeling
3,549 Posts
1916's not only will be too stiff, they will be heavy too. Safe enough, but the arrows will be slow and will drop quickly. If you were to use 1516's with 50gr points you would be shooting 10 grains per pound as compared to 14.5 grains per pound.