Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I figured out that I would have to shoot my longbow split finger with a high anchor to get the correct point-on for NFAA field. I was not able to get my favorite split finger tab to work with the high anchor; too much crowding on my face from the spacer. I went to an old Bateman split finger tab with the spacer removed. It worked great, but it was really too large (it spanned all four fingers). I did a crude hack job and cut it back. It still worked fine. I was going to try to get a replacement in a smaller size when I remembered that I had a perfectly good Wilson Black Widow split finger tab at home. So I started shooting the Widow and my arrows are flying way to the right (left handed shooter). I struggled for three days with the tab, and finally went back to the hacked up Bateman. Wouldn't you know it, the arrows are flying straight again. It has been a long time since a tab made that much difference in my shooting. I am not sure why I could not shoot the Widow. Maybe it has to do with the fact that the Widow is cut for each finger. Could it be a finger pressure issue? Anyway, no time for a root cause analysis. I will be using the hacked up tab when I shoot my first field tournament of the year this Sunday. It doesn't look very cool, but neither do I.

·
Space For Sale
229 Posts
Different tab thickness, stiffness, sewn backings, etc. Make the arrow impact differently. My widow tabs shoot right also compared to my Batman tabs. Different tabs for different set ups is normal. :)

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The Widow is much thicker than the Bateman. That makes it comfy to shoot, but I would rather have my arrows go straight.

hammer08, it is going to be a blood bath for me. I am sure the course will kill me. Maybe I will be more prepared by the June tournament.

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,696 Posts