Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was looking at Border limbs. What can you tell me about their various limbs for an ILF recurve?

·
Registered
68 Posts
Hi I am new to ILF , but have been a traditional archer for 50+ year's . I am a former bow builder , and have owned bows from many makers . Do to health problems I have been dropping bow weight, so have been looking into high performance hunting bows . There are a number of top end recurves and long bows . I like the fell of the draw of the supper recurves . I think I can shoot longer ( more arrows ) ,and with better form with the bow not stacking at the end of the draw .I have fought target panic, and short drawing most of my life . The draw force curve of the supper curves helps me with that problem . I have picked up 2 set of HEX 6 limbs . A HEX 6 S , 32# on 25" , and a HEX H BB2 ,40 # on 25" . Longs .I have the HEX 6S on a 17" riser pulling 43# @ 28" +/- . I can shoot this setup all day long . I am sold on the supper curves ,Border is one of the best , if not the best .

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I sreally they make different models/materials. What is the difference?

·
Registered
650 Posts
I am sold on these limbs! I shoot all of my Border limbs very solidly, they are FAST too! I have 3 sets of ILF limbs. I have a set of 34#@29" Hex6h BB2 (paired with 25"gmx), 1 set 36#@28" Hex6s BB2 (paired with 23" Fiberbow 5.3), and a set of 34#@28" Hex5h (paired with camo 23" GMX). I may also buy a Covert Hunter if I get some extra spending cash... which may not be too long since I just paid my car off!!! Oh and yea if you look around you can find the difference in fps between the wood core, superflex (which has been discontinued but you still find in some limbs), and the Hyperflex. You may also be able to find some info on BB1 and BB2 upgrades. I hope this helps a little and didn't make anything more confusing.

Have a great day,
Kasey