Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About a year ago I switched to 3under. Works well for me out to about 40 yds. Now I'm wondering if it would be advisable to go back to split and/ or change my anchor point for longer ranges. I'd like to shoot a 1440 this summer traditional, oh, and be somewhat competitive, lol.
I watched Jimmy Blackmon's 90m off the shelf. Wow, that man can shoot.
Suggestions would be appreciated.

Bob

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,514 Posts
I have shot over 30 FITA's in the past few years. I have never shot 90 meters three under. The best I have been able to do is 70 meters aiming with the shelf. Today, I shoot 90 and 70 split, and 50 and 30, three under. I can go either three under or split for 70. I switched to split when I got a Black Mamba Venom tab that I really liked. Splitting this way also means that I am shooting all split on the long first day, and all three under on the short second day. Also, you can change bows and arrows for FITA. I often go to a slower bow on the shorter day. That allows me to tune a bow for split, and a lighter bow for three under. Between arrow and bow changes, you can work it out where you have something on the target at all four distances.

·
Barefaced tightropewalker
8,511 Posts
Low anchor, short light arrows and fast limbs.

Reactions: crunch

·
Registered
6,389 Posts
.243 or .270, or just listen to Hank. :D

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks Hank.
I didn't realize you could switch anchor and bows. Sounds like with some planning/ playing it CAN be done! :)

·
Registered
1,462 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Set my tiller back to +1/8", and I'll give it a go. Right now WAY to cold and snowy for 70/90m.

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,514 Posts