Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having an issue of consistently shooting my groupings 4" left of my target. I seem to do this whether I am shooting my longbow, recurve or selfbow.

Is this a common problem that has an easy fix?

Any ideas?

·
Registered
397 Posts
If you know your spine is not stiff it might be you are not getting the nock under your eye. I run into this from time to time. When I anchor properly I really jam my thumb hook into my jaw and get solid bone to bone contact between the both. If I get lazy and don't do this step my nock sits out to the right of my eye and I get left flyers.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Not an expert in the least but, anyone wishing helping you will want to know the bow maker, poundage, arrow spine/ length, tip weight, draw length ect. If you shooting off the shelf or a rest. I am new to traditional archery and the ppl on this site have helped me a lot. Very good advice on here.

·
Registered
88 Posts
jeremy, let's just assume, for a minute, that your equipment, ALL of your equipment, is perfect. I have recently experienced a similar phenomena, I think. (I'll bet your shooting at twenty yards, or so, too, and when you are really close to your target, you hit closer, but just a tad left. I am also betting that you are right handed.)

I have been working hard at coming back from a "stupid, non-archery related" shoulder injury. I have had to drop bow weight I may not ever be able to get back. I also, pretty much, had to give up on longbows. I need more mass weight in the bow, now, and any kind of "recoil", hurts! So, I went back to a recurve, exclusively, as it seems a little more efficient than a longbow, at 45#--and at that weight, I need all the efficiency I can get, if I want to hunt.

I have narrowed my, "What in the heck is going on? Why am I shooting left?" issue to two things. 1. My grip. 2. Where my eyes are actually focused, at the release.