Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still new to the ILF thing (few years) and I still have some questions on how to tune the limbs for all the different risers so you know you are getting the most out of your rig. Is it all just trial and error based on the different limb pad angles and wedge length of the limbs or is there a tried and true method that works for all setups?

·
Registered
619 Posts
What is it that you are trying to accomplish. I set my tiller at zero and go.

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think that is more of my question. Do you set your limbs up based on the tiller brace or is it better to set them up based on brace at grip to keep the performance the same on all risers within reason of limb pad angles.

·
j-san = Jason
1,671 Posts
I set my bows to zero tiller and measure brace height at the grip. Different risers have different grip depths so the brace height can change for a given set of limbs depending on which riser they get mounted on.

·
Premium Member
2,497 Posts
If by performance you mean arrow speed then this is mostly determined by the quality of the limbs and the weight of the arrow. All other adjustments (tiller, preload brace height ect...) should be directed toward getting the arrows to fly nice and straight and thebow forgiving to shoot.

Rasyad

Reactions: G-Dawg

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Zero tiller has more to do with how the limbs shoot for split or 3-under and not so much how they perform. Is that correct? When you change limbs from riser to riser do the tiller brace and grip brace stay close to each other for all the risers? I have just started to use different limb makes for different risers and I don't want to mess any of the limbs up by setting them up way wrong.

·
Registered
607 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·