Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to tuning a bow for shooting off the shelf. I was wondering about what is normal for nock locator height. I am shooting a 70 inch longbow with about a 7 1/8 inch brace height. I am currently using the nock locator that Falco installed on the string that came with the bow. It is at 5/8 inches measured from the shelf. I am currently shooting 11/32 inch wood arrows, but will also shoot 5/16. What range to you experienced folks find for your nock locator positions?

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
I think whether you shoot split finger or three under will play a part. I shoot recurves off the shelf and 1/2" -5/8" above level for the top nock locator is where I usually end up. When I experiment with three under my top nock point ends up around 3/4" or so, even higher on a couple of my bows (all tillered for split).

I like to use two nock points, set it a bit high to start, then shoot bare shafts to tune it's final position. I've found that a slightly high nock point is not a bad thing

·
Registered
1,505 Posts
I buy into what Easykeeper says.

everything included hand position and bow tiller will effect the position.

(most) shelves have no "give" so start high & bare shaft it.

Put some chalk, or such' on the shelf.

Once the arrow is realesed, there should be no further contact with the shelf.

If the shelf show signs of wear, you are nocked too low.

·
Registered
1,958 Posts
Oddly enough it seems that most everything I shoot off the shelf winds up at 9/16" above dead level with shelf. That is for 3 under. I suck at split finger so I really can't say with any degree of certainty for that.

For certain venues, such as Indoor I have gone as high as 3/4" to 1" and still had good arrow flight, but I would say that that is probably about max. If you happen to find yourself above that range, then there are probably other issues in the mix messing things up.

·