Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, a little back story... I'm new to archery, no experience with compound or recurve bows. My kids originally wanted to start shooting
and I thought this would give us the opportunity to spend more time together. I've decided to get a 45# Samick Sage, read nothing but
good reviews on this bow. I'm trying to decide what bows to get for them, compound or recurve T/D so input on that would be appreciated
as well. But I need advice on what arrows to get, I honestly have no idea. I'm 6"4 about 270 and I have a 30" draw. Mainly going
to be target shooting in the back yard but would like something I could use hunting if I decided to start.I'll probably put a rest on it
and sites, I know this is not truly traditional but I'll need all the help I can get, lol. Again, I know nothing about this, spine, grains, weight,
all of this is greek to me so I need as much help as I can get from the people in the know here. I'm ordering from Twig Archery today,
so I thought I'd check with you guys first. Thanks in advance for any help you can give...

·
Registered
463 Posts
The Sage is a fine bow, but with your 30" draw I think you would be happier with the Samick Journey. From what I understand it's the exact same bow as the Sage but with longer limbs making a 64" bow instead of 62".

A .400 spine arrow 32" long with a 125 gr. point should get close.

3Rivers archery has a Dynamic Spine Calculator on the web site that might useful to you.

·
Registered
463 Posts
As far as bows for your children, how old are they?

There are some nice youth bows for sale here on the TT Trading Blanket. Jspen has a thread titled "Spring Cleaning Sale" or something like that, check those out.

BTW, welcome to TradTalk.

·
Registered
17 Posts
We are identical. I myself have a 45# sage! But i have a 28 draw. By far the best recurve for the money. I shoot Beman centershot carbon arrows fletched with a 4 inch helical