Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening,

New here, I was on some other forms a few years back but having been active in years.

Been shooting single strings for 12 years now, shot compounds prior.

Started of with a 55# Samick Sage, still have the bow and shoot it often and use it as a back up hunting bow but I shoot 40-45# limbs now. I have had a bunch of different bows over the years as I’m sure most of us have. Currently hunting with a Old Mountain Mesa 64” [email protected], great bow but looking to sell it for a 19” ILF rig. I have a cheap 25”ILF riser and some medium 45# blaclmax limbs That I want to put on a 19” riser and use for 3D and hunting.

Started self taught and trying to “burn a hole” in the target, progressed very little after 2 years. I was at a local range slinging arrows (shotgun patters lol) when I meet Mark Dreiling and Spanky Brooks. They taught me a lot, form, aiming (I gap with and without a fixed crawl)
and my shooting got way better, went from 6.5 average on 3D courses to around 8.8 - 9.0. Unfortunately I lost contact with them years back.

Then I developed severe target panic, to the point I couldn’t even anchor. Got so bad I quit shooting recurves for a little while and went back to compound (didn’t have TP with training wheels or firearms, and thank God because I might have been out of a job lol).

Finally decided that I wasn’t going to give up, tried all the typical TP fixes and kept working at it. I’m proud to say that I’m now recovering very well and I’m at about 95% control of my shooting. It’s been about a 6 year battle!!!