Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have lots of experience bow hunting with compound.
I shoot year round , shooting 3D pretty much weekly during the spring & summer.

What would be a good recurve to get me started in this type archery ? Not familiar with recurve at all.

I saw a guy this season while hunting public land that had killed a very nice buck with a recurve. I can't get it off my mind since

Sent from my SM-F711U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
84 Posts
Some of the more popular recurves for getting started are the Mandarin Duck Black Hunter, Samick/Galaxy Sage, and the Southwest Archery Spyder. I’m a longbow guy and don’t have any experience with any of these bows but those names get brought up frequently and all can be had for under $200.

These are all 3 piece takedown bows but they’re not ILF so while you can change limbs to different weights you’re pretty much limited to the limbs from that manufacture. ILF risers will cost more but the limb selection is huge. ILF risers will also have a lot of adjustability such as tiller, limb alignment, and some draw weight variability too.

If you want to go the ILF route there’s tons of choices and it depends on how much your budget is. You can keep it simple and shoot off the shelf but you also have the option of other add-ons such as elevated rest, plunger, clicker, stabilizers and weights.

Just depends on what you want to do and how much you want to spend. You could probably get a decent ILF setup for $500 but I’m not familiar enough with the lower end of the market to make a recommendation. I’m sure others on here can steer you in the right direction though.