Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I ordered my new Border Covert Hunter last November when Sid was finishing up the R&D... It arrived a couple days ago and man what a beauty she is! 53lbs at 28" she can flat out launch an arrow... I strung her up and shot a few arrows but ran out of time so over the weekend, I got to know her real good.

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I set up my tandem chrono's, this 53lb at 28" is Shooting a 540gr arrow, 204 fps. My hunting weight arrow is 585gr and measures 193fps. This is a medium grip bow. It fits my hand better than any bow to date. The short sight window is not a factor, I have been shooting Borders for 3 years and don't have any trouble seeing my target in my sight picture. I use a bear weather rest to get great flight. I shoot black eagle 250 shafts with 225gr field tips. The bow comes with sleeves for each limb and the riser. Also, a bow stringer is included. I ordered knurled limb bolts so I don't have to have an Allan wrench to assemble/disassemble it. I ordered quiver inserts cuz I like my arrows in a bow quiver. This bow is 56" braced, but has an AMO of 62". It is very maneuverable for blind and tree stand hunting. I note it is the smoothest border bow I've shot. This is astounding since I thought they couldn't get any smoother! There is a pronounced feeling of let off at full draw which makes holding full draw easier than the usual recurve that stacks. The extreme limb tip curve is more pronounced on these hex 7 limbs then on the hex 6 BB2's. Wish I could post a side by side pic for comparison. This is my new go to bow... I will order a second one for my back up and sell my 4 Borders that are the previous models. I know they are full up with orders but this bow is worth the wait. The $1,800 is not over priced, it is the best bolt down on the market.

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·