Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
thumbless stringwalker
1,719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I have been fighting my TP for many years.
I did some “desesiblation” (is it the word?) last month, by drawing-aiming and letting down.
Then start shooting at 7 meters on a reduced Indoor target until feel confidence then move farther. I’m now at 16 meters.
I shot by a combination of stringwalking and gap, that is, I set my crawl so arrows hit yellow wile aiming just below the target. My trigger still is the target image with the correct gap. My problem is that I do this totally subconscious. I do not know how it happens. Sometimes image looks out but arrow hits center. I’m doing pretty well about, 240 points (300 max) at 16 meters. I can get close to 250 but the problem is that when I try to aim, arrow go up and left.
What to do?
Keep training this way o get back closer and restart “the bridge” aiming for some seconds?
Hope I could explain it in an understandable way.
Thanks
Martin

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,700 Posts
I did all the normal exercises with a light bow. The advantage of a light bow is that when the bow starts to go off, you can catch it and pull it back. My arm would start twitching on its own. I would pull it back. It would twitch again. I would keep pulling it back until I had control. Then I would shoot. I bridge to heavier weight, just like you bridge to longer distances. As soon as I shoot my state field in two weeks, I am going to go back to my recurve and light limbs for some refresher work. I am having some trouble elevating to the spot. I have been working through it with my longbow, but I know that I will make better progress with my light bow, like last summer. My steps are 30.5 pounds, 35.5 pounds, 40.5 pounds.

·
Registered
7,381 Posts