Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have a valid and current source for compressed, and possibly tapered, cedar arrow shafts?
Thanks,

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I have not seen them advertised in any magazines or on any websites for quite some time. Have you tried a web search?
The last time I saw compressed shafts for sale was back in the '90's' by an outfit in Alaska. The old Sweetland shaft machinery seems to have disappeared. May be somebody making compressed shafts by forcing them through compression block. Not the same as the old Sweetland shafts.
Those that have the Sweetland shafts are usually not in the selling mode, I tried.
I was told something about cold, dead, hands before he would give up any.

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Can't find anything but was hoping someone had a stash somewhere. I see that ThreeRivers sells the compression block but I have no knowledge of the effectiveness of this tool in making my own.
I just started back again and am using aluminum but my first love is a wood arrow. I guess I am too rigid as I cannot bring myself to shoot carbons from a traditional bow.

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
Sweetland used heat and pressure compress the slabs according to an article I have in an old "Bowhunters Digest" written by CR Learn. The process was a secret in those days ( early 70's ) when the book was published. Besides finding the shafts you need Broadhead adapters because the shafts are not standard size.
Yes, it would be great to refurb the old machinery but I guess the money is not there. Last thing I read was a short chapter in Jack Harrision's book. He knew the folks that had the machinery.

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I am just surprised that no one is now supplying these. I have to think that I am not the only one who wants to shoot such a shaft.
Tom,