Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not one to write much. I do like to read all I can how ever on archery, and especially on ones form. I shoot mostly by myself. I have a fenced in back yard and live in south Florida. There's not many days I can't shoot. Anyway, I've been shooting longbows and recurve for a few years now. I started in the 80s with a compound but picked up a cheap recurve at an archery shop one day after watching a man at a 3D shoot just pound the center of a old mid section 3D target. I was amazed at how little time he took to shoot and also how simple his set up was.
That brings me to what I want to talk about. I found out that its not simple and its not easy to do. I do enjoy the challenge. I feel I'm getting better everyday, but I'm almost positive you never get to keep it for too long once you find it. Trying to repeat everything the same way, without thinking back or to far ahead. I have a pretty solid routine. And for the last month or so I've learned how easy it can be if I just "Breathe".
I'm talking about when I draw the bow. I take a deep breath in. I mean as deep as I can. When I breathe out , I'm thinking get inside the bow and stay strong. That way I wont start to creep forward.
Now, and only now I can Aim.
Then , another breath taking slowly in though the nose helps me expand to what feels like a surprise release.
Now there more to it then this but from were I'm at now. This seems to be working. I find that for me backtension is key. I have to be Tall and stay strong. Its funny how BT is a big mystery . If I had to explain it I would say to:,Without a bow stand up straight, with your arms straight out ,like your making a "T". Breathe in deep.Exhale as you move your arms back behind you. That's the feeling I get when I get good back tension.

Is there anyone else out there that shoot like this? I really think this could help someone who is looking to keep things simple. <LOL.

·