Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,452 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started shooting in 1957. Going on 71 yrs old. Few years ago I had Rod's clinic. There I learned about the form training aid. Picked up a lot of knowledge from the form that I would have never learned.

I have never been such a good shot. Not in class of our best shots are but very consistent.

I guess my only question is why so late in life? LOL.

If you get some years of competition left.... do it now. You are going to surprise yourself how good you can get. I was never in a competition group. I was a hunter. You now are among some of the best shots in the States. Go, for it now :)

·
Premium Member
12,452 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
You may say not a competitor. That is to me saying you are not a good shot and don't want to be. There is one place to learn to be a good shot... competition. Go for it

·
Registered
2,355 Posts
I much agree rusty, with both the quality of archers here and that competition can "sharpen the sword" so to speak for a hunter. I shot competitively for a few years when I first started though it was many years ago. At 59 I started shooting 3D again and even at my low tier I've realized that the mindset learned from competitive pressure transfers and helps with hunting pressure. I'm probably, truth be told, a better archer now than I was then.

·
Barefaced tightropewalker
8,511 Posts
Started in archery about 4 and a half years ago. I'm very sorry I didn't start earlier. The intention is to improve and the age profile of some of the best on this forum gives me encouragement it's a not futile undertaking.

·
Premium Member
20,889 Posts
You may say not a competitor. That is to me saying you are not a good shot and don't want to be. There is one place to learn to be a good shot... competition. Go for it
You need plenty of money to do this these days. Travel expense's and time to put into it or spend your money on hunting trips.

·
Registered