Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to ILF and I am thinking of getting a 17" Hoyt satori riser and long limbs. I have a 30" draw and just would like to confirm that this setup would allow for my draw length without having issues of stacking.
I am looking at getting a pair of cheap wood limbs at lower poundage to play around first and then if I like the ILF get a pair of good limbs at my hunting weight.
Any input is appreciated.
Thanks!

· Registered
41 Posts
My first ILF bow was/is a 21" W&W Black Elk riser with matching short 40lb Black Elk limbs. I'm also using an inexpensive WNS short limbs rated at ~34lbs with my 29.5" DL with no "stacking".
The IFL is great to swap out limbs quickly but I'm not liking how the limbs clank and flop around when unstrung. I'm now considering a DAS 15" DX5 riser/limbs from 3Rivers.

· Premium Member
22,126 Posts
Should be ok, especially with high end limbs. Mainly a hunting Bow?
If target or 3-D I'd say at least a 19 or 21 inch riser at 30 inch draw.

· Premium Member
22,126 Posts
My first ILF bow was/is a 21" W&W Black Elk riser with matching short 40lb Black Elk limbs. I'm also using an inexpensive WNS short limbs rated at ~34lbs with my 29.5" DL with no "stacking".
The IFL is great to swap out limbs quickly but I'm not liking how the limbs clank and flop around when unstrung. I'm now considering a DAS 15" DX5 riser/limbs from 3Rivers.
That clanking unstrung is usually no biggie.

· Registered
30 Posts
I draw at 29”. I have a 19“ Satori riser with medium limbs. I would imagine this setup would work well for you, but maybe a bit better with long limbs. The 17” riser lacks ATA accessory holes whereas the 19” & 21” have them.

· Registered
1,913 Posts
You'll be fine with a 17" and longs. I have a 30.5" AMO DL and there are even some mediums I can run on my 17" and only just hit stacking, or even be shy of it. Just depends on the DFC.