Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This will be my first IBO worlds in the longbow division. I'm just curious how everyone is setting up their arrows? Shaft material, point weight, and fletching set up.

Thank you,

Scott

·
Registered
996 Posts
Scott, I am no expert and wood arrows dont always agree with me, but I will tell you what I know.

I gave up on bareshafting wood arrows, it is not an easy task. I fletch them up and shoot them until they hit where I want them to. I will alter point weight between 100 and 125g, and cut the shaft a little at a time to get them right. I use varying thicknesses of stick on felt pads on my side plate to adjust the kick out of the arrow. I will also fine tune with brace height and rubber catwhiskers on the string.

At this point, I am shooting an Imperial by Omega Longbows, pulling 42#@30. Im drawing somewhere around 29.25" to 29.5". My arrows are Sitka Spruce spined at 58-59#, cut 30 5/8, 100g tip, 4" feathers, weighing around 510g, footed with aluminum on the rear so I dont bust a shaft with a nock hit when I practice.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
1,958 Posts
I shoot POC, 5/16 4" fletch. ( that 4" fletch is mandatory minimum in Modern Longbow I believe) I do bareshaft tune, length and point weight selected to achieve tune. Its a balancing act as I want a light arrow for the flattest trajectory I can get, yet I also want a point on distance at about 30 yards with a high anchor.

·
Back Yard Hack
757 Posts
Kind of off topic, but I have it on very good authority that the 4" fletch & screw in point rules will be done away with for next year. :)

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I ordered up some arrows from elite archery. POC 125 up front full length shaft 55-58 spine for my [email protected] centaur. Final weight should end up around 400 grains. Thanks to everyone who responded it definitely helped me figure out what to go with.