Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to this forum, so I hope I'm posting this in the right place?...

I've been a compound shooter for a few years now, but I've always fancied a takedown recurve, even before I started shooting compound. I finally gave in and decided to splash out on my first trad bow, I opted for a Hoyt Satori, 19" riser with medium maple limbs for a 62" AMO bow. I figured this combination would be suitable for my 27.5-28" draw length.

Unfortunately the dealer got my order wrong and sent me the 17" riser, so I had to send it back, and now I'm waiting on the replacement. So it'll be another week to two week wait before I can get it all going (bugger)

Just thought I would put all this out there and see what wisdom the more experienced guys have to offer? I'm thinking of starting with around an 8" brace height, or would someone with a satori recommend going higher? I did hear that they like a high brace height to quite it down, I guess this is a good thing as well, considering a higher brace height makes for a more forgiving bow?

Has anyone got some satori limbs that they are willing to post pictures off? Mine have some weird markings on them, I'm just curious if this is normal, or if it's worth having the limbs replaced. I've attached some pictures for you guys.

Many thanks in advance - Adam

·
Spearhead
3,347 Posts
I think you started out with a solid bow, can’t distinguish with the pictures, is the reinforced tip lifting or just thicker. If the tip is lifting 100% defiantly return the limbs.
have fun and enjoy your journey

Chad

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Coodster,

The reinforced tip is just thicker, definitely not lifting. I was actually referring to the lines and dimples on the tips.

·
Registered
56 Posts