Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope this is the right forum to post this. Just wanted to say, hi. I’m just getting started with archery. I bought a Tigershark Pro. Haven’t had a chance to shoot it yet, but I’m itching to. I’m looking forward to soaking up the good information here.

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,700 Posts
You are in the right place. There is no subforum for introductions here. Welcome to the forum.

Do you have the other stuff you need to begin shooting?
The basics just to start shooting include:
Tab, arm guard, suitable arrows, stringer, some sort of quiver (could even be a ground quiver). You can use a ruler instead of a bow square.
Whether you need a target depends on where you plan to shoot.
You can get much of this stuff for a pretty economical price.
Post with any questions you have about getting started.
Have you checked on a local teaching program? Depending on where you live, there might be parks or archery stores that have group lessons. It is a good way to start.
You may want to post the weight of your bow, the type of arrows you are using (there is a spine number on them that is important) and what you think your draw length is.
If you don't know your draw length then your height is a reasonable substitute.
Also, if you identify the area you live in there may be folks that can direct you to local resources for help.

·
Registered
153 Posts
I own a Southwest Archery Spyder and three set of limbs 35, 40 and 45 pounds. I think that they make very nice bows.

The only thing I would suggest is to replace your string after the factory one wears out and get a better bow stringer, as the one that they sell is cheaply made.

Learn to use a stringer properly. Using a stringer only takes a moment and teaches you to inspect the bow and string prior to and after shooting. This is a good habit to get into.