Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Forgive the length.
Admin: feel free to relocate to proper category.

Background:
I've been shooting recurve for 11 months after not picking up a bow for 20 years. Shot compound then. Arrow finger Asa kid with green fiberglass.

Currently shooting a 66" - 45# warf bow. Drawing 59# @ 30.5" d/l.
Shooting instinctively. (Not arguing about it) Shooting split with a tab.
Since last February, I have shot a documented 10,K arrows from April to July and an estimated 10,K since August.

Here is the issue at hand.
At the 20 yd. indoor range, I can push a golf tee into black foam target and put 95% of my shots within 3" if not splitting the tee.

At the same range, I can place 3D animals at various locations and have 90% to 95% shots placed in their ears.

At the same range, I can shoot a 20cm and have 75% or better in the 7 ring. This will be the picture of the black and white target with the heavy black X.
a.k.a the flip side of a 5 spot.

These above examples are more than acceptable for shooting recurve less than a year.
No complaints so far....
However:
At the same range, I can shoot at the flip side of a Vegas 3 spot.
It's the 10 ringed, 5 colored target, but a very faint + in the center.
At this target, arrows are scattered all over the field.

No, I have no visual issues with color. My vision is excellent, beyond the length of my arm. Glasses are required to read 1.25 diopter. I can easily see a squirrel in the woods at 100yds.

So here is the issue as I perceive it.
My Shot process goes like this:
1)"Pick your spot" - inhale. (My eyes never come off the spot picked) (and it's no bigger than a golf tee head. A few hairs is perfect, if contrast is there)
2)"Here we go" - exhale. (Draw to anchor) (eyes still on spot)
3)"Mac-n-cheese" (Arrow is launched)