Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shooting traditional bows for over 45 years. I fletch my own arrows and have been doing it the same way for most of that time, left wing helical.

I embarrassed to say that I have no rationale on why I fletch with that orientation other than that is the Bitz jig I've owned forever. Left wing feathers seem easier to find so maybe that's why I started like that.

So, since turkeys have two wings, is there a reason to use a right vs a left wing feather and is helical an improvement over an offset fletch?
Is the helical more stable at longer distances? I can see where that might be an issue at Olympic distances but not my sub-25yd hunting shots.

I don't know if it's a wives' tale but I always heard that pen raised turkeys had their right wing clipped so there were more left wing feathers available for arrows. (?)

Somebody school me.

Thanks (I learn a lot here)

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
To the best of my knowledge there isn't any difference in fletching with either RW or LW just don't mix the two together on the same shaft.
I've heard that LW fletching loosens screw-in points I fletch with RW feathers and for the majority on my arrows (woodies) I use glue-on points.
I do have some aluminum arrows but use those hardly at all.

·
j-san = Jason
1,683 Posts