Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, noob here. So, ive posted in archerytalk and would now like your guys' opinion. I have a bear grizzly recurve, 50# at 28", but my DL is 25". I just got some Easton axis traditional arrows, 500 spined, cut to 26.5, fletched with 5" shields. Now, I know this seems quite stiff, but they've been shooting perfectly for a while now. Is there any reason to formally tune them if theyre already shooting perfectly? Thanks in advance fellas

·
Registered
152 Posts
Archery is feel and fit. And if it fits and feels right, it's as good as it gets. There are techniques because some of us are still looking. There is no formal tuning, you hit the spot you don't need to formally do anything but buy a round to celebrate. Although you've got an amazing talent if you are perfect with that set up.

·
Premium Member
3,734 Posts
If they're flying perfectly, great! Try shooting a bare shaft to varify it.The bare shaft tells you what your arrow wants to do without the fletching correcting it. If your bare shaft groups with your fletched at 30 yards (maybe slightly weak and low) you're doing pretty good, if not, you would benefit from some formal tuning.:2cents:

Reactions: Mefferd11B

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys!! Ill try some bareshaft tuning this week. If it turns out I need to tune, im kinda SOL because theyre all already cut to 26.5

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Another question, what are the downsides of an arrow that is too stiff? I know I might need to tune, but currently my 5" feathers are taking care of the downfalls. So, with that being said, im getting perfect flight and shots with arrows that are probably too stiff. Is too stiff bad?

·
Registered
1,958 Posts
Any variance from a good state of tune is bad. Stiff, weak, whatever, too much one way or the other....not good.