Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to archery. I recently got a Martin XR Recurve (20#) and the 3 arrows included to practice with. I tried the little arrow rest that came with it but it flew off; it was terribly flimsy anyway. Now I shoot off the shelf, but gradually the bottom feather parts of the arrows come off. Is it the arrows or just me not knowing how to shoot them?

·
Registered
6,389 Posts
Could be wrong arrows for your setup, or nock height incorrect, or your release. I see you posted 20#, is that at 28" or at your draw length? What is your draw length? What size/spine arrows are you shooting, and what length are they? What is the tip/point weight? I don't want to overwhelm you, but this is the sort of information needed to get the proper set up.

·
Registered
7,124 Posts
Your bow is too fast ;)

You have to look at your spine.....if it's too stiff it won't bend around the riser. Shoot with a rest if you want to tune easier but it's possible to tune it so that doesn't happen.

jer

·
Barebow recurve
947 Posts
Also, not all shelves are designed to be shot off of. If not radiused, it would be best to add something that is. I would use a rest as it will be easier to tune and not destroy feathers.

We need to know the following to tell if your arrows are right for the bow:

*Draw weight
*Draw length
*Brace height
*Arrow type and spine
*Arrow length
*Arrow point weight

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
No idea about the arrows, they are not a brand name really they came with the bow... They are wood with plastic feathers, and I think they are 29"
Also don't know what brace height means..
My draw length is about 28"; seems like I may be overdrawing that bow.. I used a small one just to see if I liked archery and I do :3 but I have no idea how I'm going to get a rest on there

·
Registered
116 Posts