Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started shooting a Titan 2 several months ago. I added a very low grip to the riser. Im only pulling 43# which is less than all of my other bows.
Here is the problem, I have developed severe elbow pain, to the point of if I shoot the bow I am unable to sleep that night due to the pain. I have a brace and that that seems to help some.
My question is, is this due to low grip, is this due to it being a metal riser, altho it is well tuned with no shock.
Can changing to a high grip help with this problem..
Should I lay off shooting until the pain goes away.

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Maybe changing to the low grip has put extra or different tension on your tendons which is now causing your issue.
I developed tendonitis while shooting a straight grip longbow after years of shooting medium grip recurves with no problems.
I don't think Titan being a metal riser would have anything to do with it.
Today I like a high grip and that along with my use of a Powerball exerciser has all but removed any sign of the problem,but as soon as I pick up a low grip bow it will return in a few days.
I'd recommend a short break and the daily use of the powerball.
www.powerballs.com

John.

·
Registered
397 Posts
Sounds like tendonitis in your bow elbow. Ice, ice and ice along with taking it easy. Better to nip it early on our it can be a huge bugger to get rid of.

Sent from my SGH-T679 using Tapatalk 2

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,696 Posts