Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dewayne Martin recently posted a video showing his exact anchoring form and I copied it. I am new to traditional and at 15 yards I am now smashing arrows together and at 20 get them all into a 7 inch plate. This is a monumental improvement for me. I am shooting a 45 lb grizzly (at 28 inches) off the shelf. My concern, however, is that using this method my draw length is only 25 inches. If I want more speed, what do I do? Fletch arrows 1 inch closer to the front? Get a bow with higher poundage? Don't worry about it?

·
Captbill
314 Posts
Speed is nice but it's shot placement that carries the day. You may get better performance from a rig set up for a shorter draw but is it worth it? If you are shooting well and having a good time I say enjoy it and make changes slowly. I would say if you can get some lessons from a good source go for that though.

·
Premium Member
12,822 Posts
welcome to the forum.
shoot with some other more experienced traditional shooters.
Don't take ANY ONE person's form as one to copy, unless you choose one of the standout archers from this forum for a template to follow.
Interesting to get in a group of guys at a 3-d shoot, for instance, or a club target session, and watch a lot of people up close.
Often you can pick up tips (caution, can also pick up bad habits from others that sometimes look like a good deal) by watching others in a crowd.
If you are consistently getting decent 15-and-20 yard groupings, then you are doing something right with form, as consistency is the primary goal.
As a beginner, you want to instantly improve, and I don't want to defeat that, but it's a long process for most, and I'd suggest keep shooting, keep trying to improve, keep using your equipment until you are SURE you need some changes, and keep asking questions and looking at videos, and reading main forum threads, here.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·