Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
798 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have heard it said several times that trueflight feathers are superior to Gateway. I am currently fletching some gateways. Can someone point out the difference?

Second question. Which wing fletch helps the field points stay tight? I have many of both right and left wing and they all get loose

·
Premium Member
12,099 Posts
Gateway bird or Trueflite bird? There's the question.
I've heard it said the RW helical tightens up the screw in points, as it spins clockwise in flight and as it impacts target.
Seems like I have seen it on some of my arrows too, but too cold here to check it out....shooting I mean.
Also, I do not know, I am a rookie feather guy....but I think you'll get the Chevy-Ford-Chrysler discussion going with which feather is superior.
I've hoid it both ways....Trueflight or Gateway, I mean.

·
j-san = Jason
1,671 Posts
RW feathers curve to the left if you look from the nock end forwards and also have the lip of the quill on the left. LW feathers curve to the right and have the quill lip on the right side.

I've used both LW and RW feathers in the past and find it really doesn't affect point loosening. Try a bit of string wax or thread sealer tape on the threads. You can also get small o-rings to help prevent point loosening as well.

·
Premium Member
12,099 Posts
YEH but Jason, which is the better brand of fedders? Come on give it up to us.

·
Registered
2,797 Posts
Trueflight, hands down, quill is ground smooth with no irregular rough spots to screw up adhesion. Gateway aint that way

Both work. But one requires at lot more attention than the other

·
Registered
798 Posts
Discussion Starter #7