Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:sbrug:

I mean the bare riser, not what's mounted on it. Can you do both with the same riser?

I'm assuming limbs are basically the same, either ILF or specific to the riser.

·
Registered
6,304 Posts
For 99% of them it's just a redistribution of weight and/or a built-in weight kit.

I honestly believe that there hasn't been an exhaustive study of what would make the best possible BB riser because it's too easy to just produce a riser with Oly geometry.

-Grant

Reactions: Easykeeper

·
Registered
9,428 Posts
I'm no expert here but to get it rolling, most Olympic risers are light than BB specific risers and I believe the geometry tends to be different but both can be used for either with the right add ons. They are normally iLF or formula limbs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
623 Posts
There's only so much mass someone can hold out on an extended arm. a BB riser likely weighs the same as an Oly riser with all it's weights and stabs. With an Oly rig though you want the riser to have very little mass and the weights at the ends of the stabs to have as much weight as possible in order to increase the moment of inertia of the entire set up

·
Registered
4,903 Posts
You can get any riser to shoot Barebow, just some do it better than others, geometry seems very similar and the dedicated Barebow risers tend to be heavier and a few of the higher end ones have tried to make theirs much stiffer than standard risers.