Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I now have this Flatbow. I am new to traditional archery and don't understand the difference between the two. Which is better? What are the advantages of what versus the other?
thanks !!

·
Registered
9,459 Posts
The flatbow is what is known in North America as a longbow. Where I come from, the UK, the term longbow really describes the ELB, English longbow.
There are some longbow experts on here who will pick this up but mainly it is the profile of the bow, having a riser and an arrow shelf that is different for a flatbow. Google 21st century bows or Fox bows to look at their flatbows then maybe Bickerstaff to look at the ELB, that will show you.

·
Registered
5,581 Posts
The flatbow is what is known in North America as a longbow. Where I come from, the UK, the term longbow really describes the ELB, English longbow.
There are some longbow experts on here who will pick this up but mainly it is the profile of the bow, having a riser and an arrow shelf that is different for a flatbow. Google 21st century bows or Fox bows to look at their flatbows then maybe Bickerstaff to look at the ELB, that will show you.
its really olny the british that call them flatbows. Europe and US, all call them longbows.

We dot call them longbows with respect to the BLBS and the likes. (British LongBow Society) and the like of the Royal company or archers.

other than that its just a longbow.

·
Premium Member
4,891 Posts