Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd noticed one of my two longbows was sounding a bit noisy lately. my other longbow is very quiet. The only difference is that it has a Dacron string. So I made one for the first longbow and wonder of wonders, it's now whisper quiet. So I did the same for one of my recurves and same effect. A lot quieter.

OK that's nice but it will shoot a lot slower. So I set up the chronograph and blew several shots thru it with my recurve using both strings. I was amazed to see there was only about a 4 foot-per-second difference. I ran the specs thru Stu's calculator and the relative difference was about 4 fps there as well. My setup is a 62" 50lb checkmate Hunter I, shooting split fingers off the shelf with 520 grain spruce arrows 27 3/4" long.

So for a sacrifice of 4 FPS I get a quiet bow, and much less chance of damage. Seems like a deal to me.

Now I'm no trajectory expert but 4fps seems like at hunting distances there would be some but not very much trajectory difference. Anyone have any ides what the difference would be? If it's insignificant what's the big deal about fast-flite???

Unless it's significant I'm think I'm gonna stick with dacron

Am I missing something here???

·
Registered
1,104 Posts
Dacron stretches over time, ff does not. And the slight speed advantage. The faster the bow, the more of an advantage I would think. I am now looking for a checkmate. Just waiting for a deal u can't pass up. Is your hunter I rated for ff strings? I thought most older bows were not ff safe.

·
Registered
106 Posts
I don't think you're missing a thing. You made a scientific comparison, noted a minor speed difference and a significant noise reduction. For your tastes, the reduced noise trumps the reduced speed.