Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been mucking about with so called 'instinctive' shooting for a few weeks, really enjoying the challenge.

But I read somewhere that it's very important to be using your dominant eye for this type of shooting.

I shoot right handed but am left eye dominant. When I shot with a sight (or aim with the arrow in string walking) I have trained myself to use my right eye.

However, if I point at something with my finger, or put a camera viewfinder to my eye, I can tell I am definitely still left eyed.

What do you think? Is this going to slow my progress shooting 'Instinctively'?

Should I get a left handed bow? :S

· Registered
6,458 Posts
You will hear both sides, and everybody knows somebody that had no problem shooting cross eye dominate. I am right handed, left eye dominate. I started shooting right handed compounds over 30yrs ago, and had no trouble at all. Then I bought a longbow and tried just looking and shooting like what many call instinctive. I shot well, better then many in my league. However now and again I had a flyer that I couldn't explain. I tried a left handed bow and I won't lie, totally awkward. The first shot I couldn't even let the string to and had to let down. The first few shots sounded like I was dry firing the bow, due to horrible form and poor release. Dang if I wasn't as accurate at 10yds right from the start as I ever had been shooting right hand. I bought an ILF and low poundage limbs and the rest is history. It's been 3yrs now roughly and I have abandone instinctive mostly and use gap now. No doubt I could just close my left eye and gap right handed, but I only own lefty bows now. Plus the older I get, the worse my eyes get. I see no reason to aim with my non dominate eye. It's your dominate one, cause it has the best vision. Also my eyes are close and I can concentrate and pass any eye dominance test with either eye. I think this is why I did ok shoo