Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I having issues with the Gold Tip arrows I'm shooting through my 45# Samick Sage .
I'm new to Trad Archery and am trying my hand at instinctive shooting. So as you can guess I miss once and a while, but I'm having a blast shooting, with no "bells and whistles" to worry over like my compound. When I miss they hit a banking behind the target (Dirt and sm. tree roots) and are easily removed.
The issue is my arrows are splitting and splintering from the insert. They are GT Velocity Hunter 300's cut @ 29.5", 5" fletching 125 gr FP.

Any suggestions? (besides hit the target)

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
X2 what Mike says.Proper spine on arrows,proper brace Ht,and tuned to you're style shooting,also I would try double nocking points.

Good Luck
I set the brace height @ lowest recommended 7 1/2 and worked up until bow shot well and was quiet, now set at 8". Set nock 1/2 " high and adjusted until good flight no wobble and hit straight on (when I execute correct anchor and release). I shoot 3 under and have double nock.

·
Registered
2,203 Posts
I went to an archery shop an these were suggested. should I go for .4oo spline?
When I started shooting a stick bow I started with 45# and the shop sent me out the door with 340 spine arrows. I lost the first deer I shot due to lack of penetration. To describe it so you can easily visualize it...stiff ( or weak) arrows fly through the air sideways. They may hit where you intend, but they are still flying with the rear of the arrow out of line with the tip.