Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm new to traditional archery, and the issue started when I relaxed the limb bolts to reduce the draw weight. With everything tightened down as far as it would go, the bow is very quiet when I do my part right. Unfortunately I just don't have muscles for it in that configuration, my scale registers it at 40# at my draw length of 28". Too much of a jump up from my 30# Samick Sage.

The bow is a Samick Discovery riser with Samick R1 35# limbs. The arrows are full length Gold Tip Warrior 400's (32.5"). I was shooting 150gr tips 40#@28" fine. When I reduced the draw weight the clean was so loud I was checking the riser and arrows for damage. I swapped to 50gr brass inserts to try and some the issue, and while it doesn't sound like something breaks everytime I shoot, it is still there. I tried increasing weight and brace height and it got worse, but I'm afraid to take more turns out the bolts. I've got it to where it shoots well, bare shaft, field points and broadheads land together (usually, my form is obviously not perfect), but the damnable noise just won't go away. Here is a couple of pictures of a 20yd group when I do my part. That is a broadhead, field point and bare shaft I used to get the brace height dialed in. Any help would be appreciated...

Grass Natural material Grass family Recreation Soil

Plant Plant community Nature Tree Vegetation

·
Civil but Disobedient
10,625 Posts
Some risers will have manuals that will tell you how many turns you need to have on the limb bolts to be safe. Since many of us shoot risers without that information, I go with six turns, which is what I found in an old Hoyt riser manual. I have also heard to use the number of turns that matches the diameter of the bolt. I have not used the latter since six turns is pretty easy to remember.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·