Trad Talk Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to now fishing but got the gear to give it a whirl. Does anyone have any recomendations as to where one would go in southern NY or CT or even northern NJ and eastern PA that they would be willing to share? As I said I am a noob to fishing with a bow but want to try it out badly.
Thanks in advance,
Don

·
Registered
6,389 Posts
I'm right there with you, have the gear but don't really know where to go. I've been reading and as JP mentioned night is better since the fish aren't as spooky. In the daytime, they say to wear camo and do more standing then walking. Also at night fish will move into shallower water. A good light is a must, some are bow mounted and some use **** hunter lights(hat with battery belt). Some even drag a light and car battery, that wouldn't be fun. But spray would be a good idea as well. I was thinking about going up to saginaw bay here in Michigan and wading the big sand flats around the cattails.
What bow/reel are you using?
Check out bow.fishingcountry.com
Also do a search on bowfishing and your state or county and see what pops up.

·
Premium Member
816 Posts
If you guys are like me and don't have a working boat....I'd suggest trying any shallow rivers. I don't know what legal fish you all have to shoot up that way, but being able to see your quarry is pretty important :) LOL!! Bowfishing is a hoot!!! More action than deer season....or at least where I hunt....and it gets you out in nature when you might not be so inclined to be out. Lots of good times for sure!!!

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys i can't wait to get out there I just don't know where I can or can't and where would be afoot place to start. I have all the gear and am ready but now I need a push in the right direction

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·