Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been shooting two bareshafts with each end of six arrows and am not sure if the bareshafts are flying correctly.

Pinnacle II riser with 36lb Axiom limbs, Bear Weather rest, 18 strand FF Flemish string.
Brace set to 8.25", nock tied over and under at .75", even tiller, limb bolts all the way in.
Beman ICS Bowhunter 500s (7.3 gpi), 140g field points, 3x5" feathers.
I draw 31", shoot split with a Bateman tab, am right handed.

I'm still a beginner, and my groups aren't consistent yet.
The bareshafts seem to group reasonably well with fletched arrows, but they land aiming down and to the left.
The setup isn't noisy, minimal vibration, but there is some wear to the nub on the weather rest.
I can't see any fishtailing or porposing.

I reviewed the bareshaft tuning instructions from ACS A&H, but I'm not sure if this flight is correct.

Here's a quick pictoral of how my bareshafts are landing. They group in the middle of my fletched arrows, just at a funny angle. Maybe it's perfectly normal, I'm not sure.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Only 10 yards in the backyard. It's a 16x16" target in front of a plywood backstop. I'm still getting used to instinctive, and I'm not quite comfortable shooting past 15 yards. Once I start going to the range I'll get more practice in without fear of stray arrows in the neighborhood...

·
Registered
1,958 Posts