Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,277 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I DUNNO.
So I'm asking.
About all my knowledge (skimpy at best) revolves around the low-stretch stuff.
I have a vintage Browning Wasp 56" bow coming probably TODAY.
Guessing it has & "needs" DACRON.
SOME SAY (I've read) B55 is significantly better than the old B50 standby.
What say you that have b50 & b55 experience?
thanks in advance.

·
Bart Harmeling
3,416 Posts
If you already own one or the other, just use it up. If not, you'll likely need to get B55 as Brownell products are pretty scarce.

·
Registered
514 Posts
I've no extensive experience with both fibres. IMHO, the difference between
the two is Brownell's has one "5" and BCY's has two "5's". From the Net,
a confusing fibble-fabble:

http://www.n566aj.com/cgi-bin/bbs/archive.cgi?read=32790
"Dacron is a trademarked name for a polyester fiber and fabrics made from it.
So all Dacron is polyester, but not all polyester is Dacron®."

https://www.abbeyarchery.com.au/p/BRBD05/Brownell+B50+Dacron+Bow+String+Material+1-4+lb.html:
Brownell B50 Dacron Bow String Material 1-4 lb Description
"Brownell B-50 Dacron waxed bowstring material is a polyester composition."

3R's:
"BCY's B55 is a durable, 100% high-performance polyester string material.
(Polyester is the kind of material the old slower "Dacron" was made from.)"

BCY:
"B55 Bowstring - 100% polyester similar to Dacron
but with better durability and very low stretch."

and :confused::

·
Registered
8 Posts
If you make your own strings you should take into account that B55 stretches about 5 to 6 inches. B50 stretches about 4 inches.

·
Locomo
840 Posts
If you make your own strings you should take into account that B55 stretches about 5 to 6 inches. B50 stretches about 4 inches.
Inches or Millimeters?.....

·
Registered
272 Posts