Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

A long time lurker from years back. I planned to try Olympic recurve 5 years ago but some health problems overtook my plan. Now that I have fully recovered I now plan to pursue trad shooting. I gave my Hoyt Horizon to my son who also wants to start archery and I bought a Hoyt Excel 21" with Tradtech glass/wood short limbs 25# for myself. My DL is 28" AMO. I would appreciate if you can give me advise on what arrows to start with. My local shop (hard to come by in my country) advise me the Easton 1616 full length. or the Rocket Carbon Pro with a700 or 900 spine. Of course, I dropped by here first before commiting :). I would appreciate any suggestion from you guys.

Best,

Edwin

·
Premium Member
12,275 Posts
Hello, welcome to the forum.
I'm no expert, but I'm guessing you might be pulling a tad less than 25 pounds, since your riser is a tad longer than the riser those limbs are scaled at, either 17 or 19 inches.......
I'm also guessing you might be close with your 1616 or the 700-900 range, and don't cut length much until you are sure where you are; you can vary effective spine some by using lighter points (than normal) or heavier points, lighter stiffens spine, heavier weakens the arrow spine.
I had a lighter 32# target bow once, and 29" .710 spine carbons worked well, with a pretty light point weight, if I remember correctly, it was 80 grains.
Hopefully someone with more intimate knowledge of the lighter weights & spines will join in.

Reactions: efm2

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If you do your own arrows you could pickup 2 of each to see which ones will work.
Hi Whittler,