Trad Talk Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started shooting last year to extend my hunting season. I selected a compound because "that's what everybody uses"; it seemed like the obvious choice. The compound was FUN and easy, too easy. It's like shooting a rifle, once it's setup you aim and shoot. So a few weeks ago I got a Samick Red Stag and am now outside every free moment shooting, it's so much different and more challenging, I am selling the compound. I am struggling with accuracy and since I'm shooting alone out there I thought I might ask you guys for any coaching tips you may have. Here is a video for you to criticize. Please feel free to pick apart my form and my gear. Thanks.

A few sets I shot today

·
Registered
2,355 Posts
Your second sequence of shots looked like you might be getting onto your back muscles a little better, otherwise the only advice I'd give is to slow down at anchor to allow your bow arm to settle a little longer.
Feathers instead of vanes will probably help with your clearance issue and I'd also suggest a second nock serving under your arrow. Try a heavier point to weaken the spine and it'll most likely move those groups a little more right.

I'd say for shooting only a few weeks you've got a pretty solid grasp of the basics!

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I haven't tied the lower nock point because I am not clear on exactly how to tune the vertical position. I would like to tie both upper and lower rather than use the bead.

What do you mean by getting on to my back muscles?

·
Premium Member
20,889 Posts
Buy this DVD Bro. otherwise check out Rods clinic schedule. Go Bro!

·
Registered
2,355 Posts